Titel

Friday june 28 8:30 p.m. church of Pernant (02)
Saturday june 29 8:30 p.m. church of Pernant (02)

FREE CONCERTS WITHOUT RESERVATION
AND OPEN TO ALL!

AN INTERNATIONAL ENCOUNTER OF RENOWNED MUSICIANS AND YOUNG TALENT

G
Estelle Perrault (voice) TW/FR
Estelle Parrault
Estelle Perrault
© Jean-François Carreau

Estelle embodies an atypical career by the richness of two cultures and a deep passion for jazz. Raised in Kaohsiung and Taiwan and Enghien-les-Bains, near Paris, her life is a journey between two worlds. Inspired by the melodies shared with the women of her Taiwanese family, her attraction to music awakened in her childhood and took on a new dimension in adolescence thanks to her exposure to Afro-Caribbean music in France. Her relative late discovery of jazz – as a law student – through Ella Fitzgerald, Joe Pass and Wes Montgomery, marks a turning point. Now, her cultural duality offers an enriching perspective and allows her to mix influences in a unique style of jazz. For Estelle, jazz becomes a quest for freedom and personal expression, providing a space to exist and express one’s individuality, far from Taiwanese and French cultural norms. Since her first album ‘Lots of Love’ (2020), she’s one of the most promising jazz singers of France.

David Lukács (clarinet, saxophone) NL
David Lukács
David Lukács

Having his father’s record collection as an inspiration, young David fell in love with jazz music. After he studied clarinet at ‘The Hague Royal Conservatory’ he won the ‘Kobe Jazz Award’ in 1998. He did concerts, television and radio shows all over Europe and Asia, was featured on the clarinet in ‘A Tribute to Benny Goodman’ at the famous North Sea Jazz Festival and at The Concertgebouw in Amsterdam. He performed with numerous musicians and played on albums – with Caro Emerald, and The Jimmy Lunceford Legacy Orchestra. His playing and sound reminds the styles of jazz legends like Lester Young, Stan Getz and Benny Goodman, ….but most of all you hear David!

Alexander Brott (guitar) SE/CA
Alexander Brott
Alexander Brott

Being a Swedish–Canadian jazz guitarist, Alexander divides his time between Europe – The Hague where he lives – and New York – his Alexander Brott New York Quartet – where he plays with some of the world’s finest jazz musicians. Since graduating from the Royal College of Music in Stockholm in 2015, Alexander quickly became one of the most sought after guitarists in Sweden. Hailed as a virtuoso of the American jazz of the years 1920-‘50 with role models such as Tadd Dameron, Duke Ellington, Bud Powell and Hank Jones, the music of this young guitarist has been described as both “classic” and “timeless” as well as “fresh and innovative”.

Vincent Frade (drums) FR
Vincent Frade
Vincent Frade

Born in Montreuil, Vincent studied percussion at the age of eight at the National School of Music in Romainville, then drums in the amateur jazz workshops of pianist Julio Laks. In 1993, at the age of twenty, he participated in the ‘All Stars’ with a group which also played in festivals and concerts in France and in particular at the famous La Villette Jazz Festival. With the Antoine Hervier Trio and the Rémi Toulon Trio he used to play at Parisian clubs and to perform at national and international festivals, with great artists and performed a song for a scene in Woody Allens ‘Midnight in Paris’. At the same time and since several years he presents, with three colleagues, the history of jazz music from its origins to today, to primary school children in Paris banlieues.

Jos Machtel (double bass) NL
Jos Machtel
Jos Machtel

At the age of ten Jos Machtel started to play trumpet. For this instrument he went to the Hilversum conservatory. Two years later he switched here to double bass, taught by the great Victor Kaihatu: the start of a world career. He taught and played a few years in Spain, in The Netherlands – with Madeleine Peyroux, Benjamin Herman – stayed in Kansas City (US) until in 1999 he was asked for the Brussels Jazz Orchestra, till 2018 he was member of the orchestra. He still lives and works in Belgium, teaches in Leuven, and tours with illustrious bands as the Rebirth Collective, Andrea Pozza European Quintet, Dick de Graaf Kwartet, Paradox Jazzorchestra or the Simon Rigter/Ruud Breuls Kwintet.

Support program: students from the Ecole de la Musique de Soissons, atelier Loïc Rechard and Camille Jeoffroy.

Jazz’N Ambleny 2023 : an impression

This year the church in Pernant – neighbour village of Ambleny – offered a welcome atmosphere for our musical meeting. Musicians and audience were surprised by the good acoustics, the warm welcome and of course the champagne.
The festival was recommended by Radio France Musique, on the site of the Dutch embassy in Paris and in the media of Hauts de France, Aisne and Oise. We thank the municipalities of Ambleny and Pernant, the CC Retz-en-Valois, all the sponsors, the helpers and the volunteers of this year! But above all thanks to Agathe Iracema, Peter Beets, Suzan Veneman, Wouter Kühne and bassist Joachim Govin who was so kind to step in at the last moment. See you in 2024!

Titel

Vendredi 28 juin à 20h30, eglise de Pernant (02)
Samedi 29 juin à 20h30, eglise de Pernant (02)

concerts gratuits sans reservation
ouverts à tous !

Une rencontre internationale
de musiciens renommés et du jeune talent

G
Estelle Perrault (voix) TW/FR
Estelle Parrault
Estelle Perrault
© Jean-François Carreau

Estelle Perrault, chanteuse de jazz franco taïwanaise, incarne un parcours atypique marqué par la richesse de deux cultures et une passion profonde pour le jazz. Élevée entre Kaohsiung à Taïwan et Enghien-les-Bains, près de Paris, sa vie a été un voyage entre deux mondes. L’attrait d’Estelle pour la musique s’est éveillé dans son enfance, inspiré par les mélodies partagées avec les femmes de sa famille à Taïwan, et a pris une nouvelle dimension à l’adolescence grâce à son exposition à la musique afro-caribéenne en France. Sa découverte du jazz, étudiante en droit à l’université, à travers les albums d’Ella Fitzgerald, Joe Pass et Wes Montgomery, marque un tournant. Sa dualité culturelle offre une perspective enrichissante, lui permettant de mêler ses influences dans un style de jazz unique. Pour Estelle, le jazz devient une quête de liberté et d’expression personnelle, offrant un espace pour exister et exprimer son individualité, loin des normes culturelles taïwanaises et françaises. Depuis son premier album « Lots of Love » (2020), elle est l’une des chanteuses de jazz les plus prometteuses de France.

David Lukács (clarinette, saxophone) NL
David Lukács
David Lukács

S’inspirant de la collection de disques de son père, le jeune David tombe amoureux de la musique jazz. Après avoir étudié la clarinette au « Conservatoire Royal de La Haye », il a remporté le « Kobe Jazz Award » en 1998. Il a donné des concerts, des émissions de télévision et de radio dans toute l’Europe et en Asie, et a joué de la clarinette dans « A Tribute to Benny Goodman » à au célèbre Nord Sea Jazz Festival et au Concertgebouw d’Amsterdam. Il a joué avec de nombreux musiciens et fait a parti sur des albums – avec Caro Emerald et The Jimmy Lunceford Legacy Orchestra. Son jeu et son son rappellent les styles de légendes du jazz comme Lester Young, Stan Getz et Benny Goodman,… mais surtout, vous entendez David !

Alexander Brott (guitare) SE/CA
Alexander Brott
Alexander Brott

En tant que guitariste de jazz suédo-canadien, Alexander partage son temps entre l’Europe – La Haye où il vit – et New York – son Alexander Brott New York Quartet – où il joue avec certains des meilleurs musiciens de jazz du monde. Depuis qu’il a obtenu son diplôme du Royal College of Music de Stockholm en 2015, Alexander est rapidement devenu l’un des guitaristes les plus recherchés de Suède. Salué comme un virtuose du jazz américain des années 1920-1950 avec des modèles tels que Tadd Dameron, Duke Ellington, Bud Powell et Hank Jones, la musique de ce jeune guitariste a été qualifiée à la fois de « classique » et d’« intemporelle ». ainsi que « frais et innovant ».

Vincent Frade (batterie) FR
Vincent Frade
Vincent Frade

Né à Montreuil (93), à huit ans il étudie la percussion à l’école Nationale de Musique de Romainville, puis la batterie en autodidacte aux ateliers jazz du pianiste Julio Laks. En 1993, à l’âge de vingt ans, il participe aux ‘All Stars’ avec une formation qui aussi joue dans festivals et concerts en France et notamment au festival de Jazz de la Villette. Il fait partie du Trio Antoine Hervier et du Trio Rémi Toulon. Habitué des clubs parisiens et des festivals nationaux et internationaux, où il se produit régulièrement, il a joué notamment avec plusieurs grandes artistes. Pour une scène de Woody Allens « Midnight in Paris’ », il a joué le morceau ‘Recado’. Parallèlement et depuis quelques années il participe, avec trois collègues, à présenter l’histoire de la musique de jazz de ses origines à aujourd’hui, à des enfants de classes primaires dans des écoles de banlieues.

Jos Machtel (contrebasse) NL
Jos Machtel
Jos Machtel

À l’âge de dix ans, Jos Machtel commença à jouer de la trompette. Pour cet instrument, il s’est rendu au conservatoire de Hilversum. Deux ans plus tard il s’oriente ici vers la contrebasse, enseignée par le grand Victor Kaihatu : le début d’une carrière mondiale. Il a enseigné et joué quelques années en Espagne, aux Pays-Bas – avec Madeleine Peyroux, Benjamin Herman – resté à Kansas City (États-Unis) en 1999 il soit sollicité pour le Brussels Jazz Orchestra, jusqu’à 2018 il en est membre. En ce moment il vit toujours en Belgique, enseigne à le Luca School of Arts de Louvain et tourne avec des groupes illustres comme le Rebirth Collective, Andrea Pozza European Quintet, Dick de Graaf Kwartet, Paradox Jazzorchestra ou encore le Simon Rigter/Ruud Breuls Kwintet.

En première partie : des étudiants de l’Ecole de la Musique de Soissons, atelier de Loïc Rechard et Camille Jeoffroy

Jazz’N Ambleny 2023 : une impression

L’église de Pernant – village voisin d’Ambleny – a offert une atmosphère accueillante pour notre rencontre musicale. Les musiciens et le public ont été surpris par la bonne acoustique, l’accueil chaleureux et bien sûr le champagne.
Le festival a été recommandé par Radio France Musique, sur le site de l’ambassade Néerlandais à Paris et dans les médias des Hauts de France, de l’Aisne et de l’Oise. Merci aux municipalités d’Ambleny et de Pernant, au CC Retz-en-Valois, à tous les sponsors, aux assistants et aux bénévoles de cette année ! Mais surtout grâce à Agathe Iracema, Peter Beets, Suzan Veneman, Wouter Kühne et le bassiste Joachim Govin, remplaçant à la dernière minute. On se revoit en 2024 !